Treetop Gallery

Current Exhibition

TWO FROM THE HEART an exhibition featuring individual and collaborative work from artists Penny Otwell and Tim DeWitt open at the Treetop Gallery from January 24 – March 15, 2019.

Join Penny Otwell for a live demonstration and discussion any time between 10am – 2pm at the Treetop Gallery!

Come Play!

Two from the Heart includes an interactive installation with stackable blocks created by Penny and Tim. Boxes are purchasable for a donation fee of $25 – $50 with all proceeds benefiting our Arts Education programs in 2019.

Meet Penny:

Motivated by the rhythm and design of the natural world, Penny Otwell studied natural history principals through direct observation along Yosemite’s High County trails and attended scientific outdoor field seminars from experts; what she knows and loves about the mountains translated through her paintings.

“Something about the available light is usually my guide. Over time, I’ve become a keen observe of nature by painting in the outdoors.”

Meet Tim:

Tim DeWitt’s working life has orbited around creating things for people or drawing things for other people to create since the ’70s. Starting out, Tim handcrafted leather clothing, accessories and gifts for high profile musicians including Jimi Hendrix, David Bowie, Iggy Pop, Tom Waits, and many more. Gradually, his career transitioned into architecture, where he designed commercial and residential working drawings for over 25 years.  Inspired by Penny, he has recently expanded and experimented with his intrinsic need to create, making leather coats and bags once again while finding fresh forms of artistic expression.

Follow Tim on Instagram: @oldhippieleather

How Tim Met Penny:

Tim and Penny’s families first met in Yosemite National Park where Tim led backpacking trips that Penny organized for the Yosemite Hiking Association. They remained friends while their now-grown children attended school together here in Mariposa, but say they really “re-met” four years ago. Tim and Penny discovered they spoke the same languages of art, color; love for Yosemite, the High Country; family.

 “We were both in our sunset years, we both thought our suns had set. But turns out, there is a whole new chapter…”

The Treetop Gallery

The Arts Council’s Treetop Gallery acts as accessible space for visitors to enjoy rotating curated exhibitions and offers local artists the opportunity to showcase and sell an inclusive scope of their work publicly.  The Treetop facilitates multiple avenues for engagement with the visual arts, including classes, workshops, and receptions, and hosts the Mariposa Arts Council’s headquarters.

Monday – Friday
9am – 5pm
Accessible on weekends through downstairs entrance  (Chocolate Soup)

5009 Hwy 140 | Mariposa, CA 95338

The Arts Council’s Treetop Gallery acts as accessible space for visitors to enjoy rotating curated exhibitions and offers local artists the opportunity


Linda Abbott Malcolm Mc Gregor
Trowzers Akimbo Patti Mc Gregor
Ryan Alonzo Ann Mendershausen
Jackie Baxton Ralph Mendershausen
Phyllis Becker Jeanne Moje MacDonald
Becky Caraco Saralynn Nusbaum
Moira Donohoe Penny Otwell
Ann Harris Jeanetta Phillips
Candace Harrison Lorie Setterberg
Charlotte Hoffman Fran Shell
David Hoffman LothLorien Stewart
Carol Johnson Vicki Thomas
Gary Langdon John Tomsick
Michelle Marco Helen Willoughby Peck
Phyllis McAdams Wei Zhang
Carol Johnson Tim Dewitt
Leonard Bullock Polly Kananaugh
Lura Schwarz-Smith Kerby Smith

Prospective artists interested in joining the Treetop Gallery may contact the Arts Council at:

 Past Rotations